NaNoWriMo


img_0740.jpgimg_0740.jpg

Why I write…Last month on my twitter feed, I kept seeing posts about NaNoWriMo and decided to take the plunge and give it a go myself. Since I finished writing my dissertation in August, I have taken a back seat with writing fiction. The only thing I have written consistently is blog posts and they have been largely to do with food. I’ve always wanted to write a novel but I have never pushed on further than 10,000 words. As Wednesday 1st November approaches quickly, it is dawning on me what a daunting month lays ahead. I’m not writing my novel with the aim of trying to get it published – it could be a pile of rubbish after all! I’m doing it so I can push myself, challenge myself and try to achieve something I have always wanted to do.I know it is going to be tough. I don’t class myself as a ‘writer’ as such, but for one month, I suppose that’s what I am. The aim is to write 50,000 words in 30 days. It took me 3 months to do 20,000 for my dissertation! However, with this, I will edit it once (or if) I get my novel finished and if it’s worth editing! I’m very self-critical and I know I will need to be kinder to myself if I am going to complete this project. I’ve planned my idea and in the process of completing my character profiles but I know I will have some days where I have no inspiration to write. In order to finish the novel, or to hit 50,000 words, I need to write at least 1667 words a day. When it is put like that it doesn’t sound too painful, but I know that I (and many others) will hit a wall on the way. So, my question is, how do you keep yourself motivated as a NaNoWriMo virgin? How do you push yourself to keep going? And how do you know if what you have written is any good? I saw something on instagram a couple of weeks ago using the hashtag why I write, so before I started planning anything, I did a mind map about why I write. It’s quite therapeutic to think about the reasons why you do something you enjoy. I’m really excited to start writing on Wednesday, but also full of apprehension and self-doubt. I know the only way I can dispel the doubts is to write with confidence and follow my plan!img_0737One other thing I’m going to try and do is to start a bullet journal. Again, I don’t know how successful it will be, but I am forever on Pinterest and everyone who does it makes their work seem so organised and well presented. I am a massive stationary hoarder and complete geek so I am sorted with bright pens, planners and pretty notebooks. I may have to order some stickers and washi tape off Amazon just to complete the look though! I’m off to Barcelona for 5 days on Thursday so will be taking my laptop and notebook with me to write while I’m there, hopefully in the sun with a large bottle of wine to get me through!Good luck to everyone who is participating! 

1 Comments Add yours

  1. Avionne's Legacy says:

    Excellent read and great article.

    Like

Leave a comment